I was born in Heraklion, Crete, but I have spent most of my life in the UK, and I feel more British than Greek in many ways, though I prefer to think of myself simply as European.

In my youth I lived with with a family in Staffordshire. I attended Keele University in the early 1990s, taking a four-year degree in philosophy, sociology, and social anthropology, with a subsidiary in education. As part of my studies I did a teaching placement at a school in Stoke.

After Keele, I moved to Sheffield University, where I took an MA in philosophy, and later started a part-time PhD there, under the supervision of Professor Jenny Saul.

In the late 1990s I taught A-level philosophy at Newcastle-Under-Lyme College, and was for a time in charge of the philosophy provision there. I also taught philosophy at the universities of Keele and Sheffield, and in 2001 I was a Visiting Lecturer in the Department of Philosophy at the University of Wolverhampton.

From 2001 to 2008 I worked at The Open University as a course manager in the Faculty of Arts, liaising between academics, senior management, tutors, and students. I also worked as an Associate Lecturer for the OU, teaching on their philosophy foundation course.

In 2008 I moved back to Greece for family reasons. The move was originally intended to temporary, but the economic crisis in Greece complicated matters and we are still here. I currently teach in the English section of the School of European Studies in Heraklion.

I continue my philosophical work. I am completing my PhD thesis, which is on conversational implicature, and am developing further research interests in philosophy of mind and action, philosophy of education, and ethical issues related to communication and consent. I am also passionate about philosophy for children, a topic which combines my interests in philosophy, education, and communication.

Besides philosophy, I also enjoy music, poetry, and crafts, and have done some training as a counsellor.

I am married to the philosopher Keith Frankish, and we have three children and several small pets.